ONPA Quarterly Clip
Television Contest Results

2008 Results

2009 Results

2010 Results

2011 Results

2012 Results


  • 1st quarter
  • 2nd quarter
  • 3rd quarter
  • 4th quarter
  • Point Standings

Spot News
1st - Nate Van Sickle, WBNS-TV, "New Year's Loss"
2nd - Jeff Ritter, WBNS-TV, "I was expecting the worst"
3rd - Steve Maguire, WBNS-TV, "Historic Arson Victim"

General News
1st - Jeff Ritter, WBNS-TV, "Even if we're bored to death, we'll wait"
2nd - Steve Maguire, WBNS-TV, "Rebuilding Kids Lives"
3rd - Nate Van Sickle, WBNS-TV, "I'm not a football fan"
HM - Rich Yedlicka, WBNS-TV, "Reynoldsburg Basketball Player dies"

News Feature
1st - Billy Muhammed, WJW-TV, "Dan's New Job"
2nd - Bill Reagan, WBNS-TV, "OHP Ticket Quota"
3rd - Billy Muhammed, WJW-TV, "Job Fair"

Judged at WNDU-TV, South Bend, Indiana

Spot News 

1st - Vince Jordan, WBNS-TV, "Reynoldsburg Gas Leak"
2nd -  Michael Gravely , WBNS-TV,   "Body Parts Found"  
Judges comments - Two judges recommend “no” award for either piece.  Both were average, but not award worthy.

General News
1st - Steve MaGuire, WBNS-TV, "Christmas in April"              
2nd - Jeff Ritter, WBNS-TV, "Grounds of Remembrance"             
3rd -  Nate Van Sickle, WBNS-TV, "Losing the King"                          
HM - Brian Wicker, WBNS-TV, "Growing for a Cause"                    
Judges comments - Grounds of Remembrance was selected as #1 by two judges. We were unanimous with the top 4!  All good stories with solid photography and editing.
News Feature
1st - Steve MaGuire, WBNS-TV,   "Sheriff’s Artist"
2nd - Nate Van Sickle, WBNS-TV, "Major League gaming"
3rd - Bill Reagan, WBNS-TV, "I Survived a Shark Attack"
HM - Brian Wicker, WBNS-TV, "Not Your Average Country Song"
Judges comments - All judges selected Sheriff’s Artist for #1 - Again, nice pacing and editing all around.
In Depth
1st - Jeff Ritter, WBNS-TV, "Hope for Hungry"
2nd - Scott Doelling, WBNS-TV, "No CSI Here"
3rd - David Schulte, WBNS-TV, "Laptop LoJack"
Judges comments - Loved the standup in Hope For Hungry!  Creative!

Judged at KMGH-TV in Denver

Spot News

General News
1st - Jeff Ritter, WBNS-TV Columbus, "National Guard Send-off"           
2nd - Steve Maguire, WBNS-TV Columbus, "Co-Working"
3rd - Jeff Ritter, WBNS-TV, Columbus, "Community Garden"
News Feature
1st - n/a
2nd - Steve Maguire, WBNS-TV, Columbus, "Revenge of Summer"
1st - Byron Stirsman, WHIO, Dayton, "The Man Not To Be"
2nd - Bill Reagan, WBNS-TV, Columbus, "Hotel Security"
3rd - Bill Reagan, WBNS-TV, Columbus, "I survived - Elevator Colapse"

Judged at KTVI-TV, St. Louis


Spot News
1st - Michael Gravely Jr, WBNS-TV, "Burglary Standoff"

General News
1st - Steve Maguire, WBNS-TV, "Banking on furniture"
2nd - Jeff Sheerer, WBNS-TV, "Domestic Silence survivor"
3rd - Scott Doelling, WBNS-TV, ""Ohioans in need"

News Feature
1st - Steve Maguire, WBNS-TV, "A Veteran Artist"
2nd - Jeff Sheerer, WBNS-TV, "Year round Santa"
3rd - Jeff Ritter, WBNS-TV, "Stack it high and tight"
1st - Bill Reagan, WBNS-TV, "Hotel Security Folo"
Judged at WTSP-TV, St. Petersburg, FL

2009 Final Point Standings

1st - Steve Maguire, WBNS-TV - 75pts
2nd - Jeff Ritter, WBNS-TV - 63pts
3rd - Bill Reagan, WBNS-TV - 40pts
4th - Nate Van Sickle, WBNS-TV - 31pts
5th - Michael Gravely Jr., WBNS-TV - 21pts
6th -  Jeff Sheerer, WBNS-TV – 18pts
       - Billy Muhammed, WJW-TV - 18pts
8th - Scott Doelling, WBNS-TV - 15pts
9th - Byron Stirsman, WHIO-TV - 12pts
       - Vince Jordan, WBNS-TV - 12pts
11th - David Schulte, WBNS-TV - 6pts
12th - Brian Wicker, WBNS-TV - 3pts
13th - Rich Yedlicka, WBNS-TV - 2pts
14th - Chris Reece, WJW-TV - 1pt
         - Craig Picklesimer, WUPW-TV - 1pt
         - Mike Thompson, WUPW-TV - 1pt