Meg Vogel & Jessica Phelps chosen Photographers of the Year

ATHENS - Jessica Phelps capped off an extraordinary week in the world of contests winning the ONPA small market Photographer of the Year title for the third year in a row. Meg Vogel won the POY title for the large market division.

Phelps also won the first place award for the James R. Gordon Ohio Understanding Award for her entry “The View From Phoenix,” which told the story about eight-year-old Phoenix Lucterhand who was diagnosed with autism. She also won the first place award for the Ron Kuntz Sports Photographer of the Year. Phelps also won first place awards for sports feature and sports picture story and placed second in feature picture story and won an award of excellence in the portrait category.

Earlier this week Phelps was also named Photojournalist of the Year for small markets in the 2017 Best of Photojournalism competition sponsored by the National Press Photographers. She is only the third photographer working in Ohio to win the award. George A. Smallsreed, Jr. from The Columbus Dispatch was the NPPA Photographer of the Year in 1957. In 1973 Kurt E. Smith from the Lorain Journal was the NPPA / Missouri Pictures of the Year Newspaper Photographer of the Year.

In addition to her POY title Vogel placed second in the Ohio Understanding Award for her story which followed a family Syrian refugees for their first year living in this country. Vogel also has six individual wins in the contest and also was a team member in three video entries won by the Enquirer. Andrea Noall from Kent State University won the Chuck Scott Student Photographer of the Year award. Andy Morrison from The (Toledo) Blade was awarded Best of Show in the
contest for his story, “Cow & Diann.” More story

Complete results

Televison contest rules available; contest chairman needed

Contest rules for the 2016 ONPA year-end Televsion contest are now available for download.The dealine to submit entries is midnight, March 15, 2017. Questions concerning the contest can be directed to Televison Vice President Chris Reece.

ONPA is looking for a volunteer to serve as the contest chairman. Interested parties should contact Chris Reece.

Kyle Robertson repeats as ONPA Clip Photographer of the Year
     For the third time four years Kyle Robertson of The Columbus Dispatch has won the ONPA Monthly Clip Contest Photographer of the Year title. Andy Morrison from The Blade finished second in the contest after placing third the two previous years. Barbara Perenic from The Columbus Dispatch finished in third place. 
      Robertson won in every category of the contest during the year and finished the year with 1564 points breaking the record of 1224 points which had been set by both Eamon Queeney of The Dispatch in 2014 and Lisa DeJong from The Plain Dealer in 2012.
     There was not a lot of drama in this years contest. For the past few months Robertson had a comfortable lead but he didn’t take his foot off the gas picking up five wins in the final month. Robertson had 40 wins during the course of the year, 12 of these wins were sports with seven wins in both portrait and picture story.

Gallery of Kyle Roberton’s 2016 clip winners

2016 Final Top 10 Standings
1st - Kyle Robertson, The Columbus Dispatch - 1564
2nd - Andy Morrison, The (Toledo) Blade - 1124
3rd - Barbara Perenic, The Columbus Dispatch - 954
4th - Kareem Elgazzar, Cincinniati Enquirer - 734
5th - Adam Cairns, The Columbus Dispatch - 724
6th - Eric Albrecht, The Columbus Dispatch – 634
7th - Meg Vogel, Cincinnati Enquirer - 604
8th - Patricia Schaeffer, (Lisbon) Morning Journal - 534
9th - Joshua Bickel, ThisWeek Newspapers - 484
10th - Jonathan Quilter, The Columbus Dispatch - 464

     Kareen Elgazzar and Meg Vogel from the Cincinnati Enquirer finished in the Top 10 marking the first time that two photographers from that publication did so in the same year.
      The December results and full final standings can be found here.